Common Core
National PTA
Achieve the Core
  • What are the Common Core Standards?

    Educational standards describe what students should know and be able to do in each subject in each grade. In California, the State Board of Education decides on the standards for all students, from kindergarten through high school. The California Department of Education helps schools make sure that all students meet the standards.

    In 2010, more than 40 states adopted the same standards for English and math. These standards are called the Common Core State Standards (CCSS). Having the same standards helps all students get a good education, even if they change schools or move to a different state. Teachers, parents, and education experts designed the CCSS to prepare students for success in college and the workplace. Progress towards standards is measured by the CAASPP assessment. For information on this assessment or with questions about opting to not take this assessment, please contact the director of curriculum. 

    Here are a variety of resources with information about the Common Core State Standards that are being implemented in the Washington Union School District.

    Introductory Video of CCSS


    Math Video - Why is Math Different now?

    Overview of California's Common Core State Standards

    The California CCSS in English Language Arts

     The California CCSS in Mathematics


    National PTA Tool Kit for Student Success


    Achieve the Core - Achieve the Core is a non-profit organization working to support teachers across the country in their efforts to realize the promise of the Common Core State Standards for all students.